RDC Election Results 2015

Anti-fracking candidates and their supporters delivered tens of thousands of leaflets, rang thousands of doorbells, had hundreds of doorstep conversations and kissed a lot of babies (probably) – all to spread the word about the threat that fracking poses to Ryedale. And what a fantastic job they did too!

At least 13,500 people voted for candidates who were clearly and unequivocally anti-fracking and made it the central platform of their campaign. 

This marks a watershed moment in the campaign for Frack Free Ryedale, as it shows that the word is out and thousands of people in the area have woken up to what is going on. It is very clear that the more people find out about fracking, the more support we have. And that support is only going to grow as time goes on.

What was also interesting was that leading Conservatives like Linda Cowling also came out as anti-fracking, as her third leaflet shows all too clearly , and Eric Hope hurriedly stamped ‘No Fracking’ on all his leaflets when faced with the polite determination of Chris Pickles to raise the issue with residents in Sheriff Hutton.

Here are the results of candidates that we know publicly declared themselves anti-fracking, and there may be more, as we don’t know the opinions for all the candidates from other parties. But this was the list we had before the election, so let’s stick with that.

Malton – Paul Andrews, Independent – 838 votes (elected)
Malton – Lindsay Burr, Independent – 1020 votes (elected)
Malton – Ed Jowitt, Independent – 664 votes (elected)
Derwent – Stephen Shaw, Independent – 659 votes
Helmsley – Erica Rose, Green – 407 votes
Kirkbymoorside – Martin Brampton, Green – 477 votes
Kirkbymoorside – Nicky Hollins, Liberal – 280 votes
Kirkbymoorside – Luke Richardson, Liberal – 374 votes
Norton East – Elizabeth Shields, Lib Dem – 440 votes (elected)
Norton East – Ben Merhrtens, Lib Dem – 320 votes
Norton West – Jeremy Powell, Independent – 388 votes
Norton West – Eddie Thornton, Liberal – 52 votes
Norton West – Alasdair Clark, Liberal – 82 votes
Norton West – Di Keal, Liberal Democrats –  631 votes (elected)
Norton West – Howard Keal, Liberal Democrats – 325 votes
Pickering East – Joy Andrews, Liberal – 643 votes (elected)
Pickering East – Tommy Woodward, Liberal – 496 votes
Pickering East – Jane Haigh – Liberal Democrats – 169 votes
Pickering East – Charles Hopkinson, Independent – 163 votes
Pickering West – Tim Thornton, Liberal – 893 votes (elected)
Pickering West – Mike Potter, Liberal – 607 votes
Thornton Dale – Sandra Bell, Green – 510 votes
Amotherby – Darran Allanson, Independent – 485 votes
Ampleforth – Barbara Hickman, Green – 334 votes
Cropton – John Clark, Liberal – 526 votes (elected)
Dales – Nelly Trevelyan, Liberal – 281 votes
Hovingham – Nic Burton, Green – 439 votes
Rillington – Janice Avery, Green – 145 votes
Sherburn – Selma Khan, Green – 193 votes
Sheriff Hutton – Chris Pickles, Independent- 337 votes
Sinnington – Glyn Wild, Green – 289 votes

Total votes for anti-fracking candidates: 13,467.

This does not include candidates whose opinions on fracking are unknown, e.g. the Labour Party candidates and other Independents. If anyone knows other people who stood on a clear anti-fracking ticket – e.g. by declaring it on their leaflets – the please drop us a line at contact@frackfreeryedale.org.

Finally, a huge thank you to everyone who stood for office, who helped the candidates with their leafleting campaigns, set up film evenings, went to Hustings and asked questions, and of course all who voted for anti-fracking candidates.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.